On Test – Paramo’s Quito Jacket

Image

Paramo’s Quito Jacket – good for walking and cycling

PARAMO certainly has a strong following amongst Scotland’s walkers and the company’s clothing range is designed to be functional, rugged, dependable and well priced, although for some it may be a little short on cosmetics.

But perhaps that’s no bad thing, and while the style-police may gripe and grimace at the sack-like cut there is little doubt in my mind that no fabric on the market works as effectively as Paramo’s Nikwax Alology Light.

You won’t get wet while wearing this jacket, and you won’t suffer from condensation either. Unlike most waterproof fabrics, Nikwax Alology really does draw moisture away from the skin and delivers it to the outside where it simply evaporates. No matter how hard you work while wearing this jacket, it’s highly unlikely you’ll experience any condensation at all. That means you won’t get chilled, you will stay drier for longer and you will remain comfortable.

And that’s a huge bonus if you’re on a bike. I’ve worn a variety of waterproof jackets on the bike in the past couple of years and most of them suffer from condensation forming on the inside. When you hit a big descent and the rushing wind cools you down, that condensation can really chill you. Wearing a jacket that is both waterproof and breathable is a big bonus.

The Quito Jacket is a genuine multi-function jacket. I’ve been using it as a walking jacket this past winter and on wet days I’ve also worn it as a cycling jacket, in which it excels. The long tail, longer arms and reflective strips are all good cycling features, although I wouldn’t necessarily want a hood on a cycling jacket. I would also have appreciated some kind of pocket in the tail.

My biggest gripe about Paramo jackets has always been about the weight of the garments, but the Quito is Paramo’s lightest to date, weighing in at a tad under 500gms. That’s very respectable, especially when you consider the Quito could be used as a full-on winter jacket, with its wired hood, volume adjuster, full length zip with inner storm flaps, underarm ventilation zips and four pockets.

I’m not too fussy about the handwarmer pockets which are accessed through the ventilation zips, but all-in-all I think this is one of the best jackets Paramo has made to date. I think I’ll be using it a lot of bike touring this spring. It costs about £200, depending where you buy it.

www.paramo.co.uk

2 thoughts on “On Test – Paramo’s Quito Jacket

  1. I suppose weight does put some folk off….but I find it rather comforting in bad weather. Paramo won me over a life time ago for its durability and practicality and I for one hope they never go down the brand name ‘cosmetic’ route. You want your gear to work and be durable, look nice too but not just for the sake of style!

  2. I’ve always been curious about Paramo and its obvious qualities, but I’ve always thought it a bit un-stylish (arrest me now, Fashion Police). I think one of doubts has been the the multi-layers and fear of being too hot/uncomfortable.
    I’m currently up to date with my gear; just browsing for a while but I’ll make sure I have a peep at Paramo.

Leave a Reply

