On Test – Fat Lad at the Back bike clothing

Image

I still recall with embarrassment the first cycling shirt I bought. I tried an XL – too tight. Then tried an XXL – still too tight. With mounting disbelief I eventually struggled into an XXXL. No-one had told me cycling clothing was designed for skinny racing snakes.

Not surprisingly others have had the same experience, and it was on an ascent of the infamous Alpe d’Huez that three Yorkshire lads came up with the idea of putting the words Fat Lad at the Back (FLAB) on a t-shirt for the last person up the hill.

And so Fat Lad at the Back was born, a bike clothing company that realised not all cyclists were wafer thin.

If you happen to have a 55-inch chest and a 55-inch waist then these Yorkshire lads can supply you with shirts, bibshorts and bibtights that will fit you, without making you feel you’ve been bound up like a shrink-wrapped chicken. I have absolutely no doubt there is a huge market (pardon the pun) out there.

What’s more important is that this kit is quality – made in Yorkshire from Italian fabrics. The padded bib tights are made from Super Roubaix fabric and so are ideal for winter while the bib shorts, with the wonderful Yorkshire name of Ey Up Shorts, are made from Lycra and have a high density seat pad.

The short sleeved shirt, which I’ve been using, is cut to a comfortable, rather than tight, fit and is quick drying, fully breathable and sweat wicking. It’s called the Balmy Short Sleeve Jersey. Won’t I be embarrassed by the message emblazoned on the back? Not a bit of it. I might still be a bit heavier than the lads at the front but I know my place!

Fat Lad At The Back shirt costs £49.99 and the bibshorts are £59.99

www.fatladattheback.com

 

Leave a Reply

