Winter on Ben Wyvis

CONTINUING this little series on winter hills this time It’s Ben Wyvis, just north of Inverness.
I climbed Wyvis again a couple of months ago with an old friend, Martin Hynd, who now works as a ranger with Highland Council. The hill was on the route of my Pilgrims’ Trail, the cross Scotland route between Iona and the Tarbat peninsula, and it was the first time I had descended north and east of the mountain’s summit, into a part of Scotland that I didn’t know at all, that lovely area of deep glens and hills in Easter Ross, an area that is being severely threatened by windfarm proposals. I’m hoping the television programmes, to be broadcast on Christmas week, will encourage more walkers to visit those areas of Glen Glass, Strath Morie and Strath Rusdale.

2 thoughts on “Winter on Ben Wyvis

  1. Lovely views.
    However, Inverness’s hill? I grew up within sight of Ben Wyvis and I have never once in my life associated it with Inverness. If it’s anybody’s, its Dingwall’s.

Leave a Reply

